Home  >  Reviews  >  Strings Reviews  >  Cellos Reviews  >  Glarry GC101 4/4 Full-Size Acoustic Cello Matte Nature Golden Retrovert Black White Reviews
Reviews of Glarry GC101 4/4 Full-Size Acoustic Cello Matte Nature Golden Retrovert Black White
4.8 5 77

Customer Reviews(77)

by A***n



on April 25, 2024

My wife is thrilled with this.


by F***e



on April 20, 2024

We are not familiar with what top-line instruments are like, so keep that in mind when I review what we got: This cello is fantastic. As the picture shows, I chose the white model, which she enjoys. The cello shipped in a box with the correct upright direction clearly indicated; there was plenty of protection for the instrument, and it was shipped inside the soft case.


by L***h



on April 12, 2024

It is affordable enough that there need not be the expectation that she will one day be an expert at the instrument; something that she enjoys is enough. This may not be as good as more expensive cellos, but for someone who had nothing and no expectations, it is wonderful.


by C***o



on April 09, 2024

This is my first cello. The sound is great, it looks great and it is a great cello. I recemend this for your first cello. It is a must buy.


by C***n



on March 29, 2024

The strings it comes with aren't great. Drop D'Addario Prelude strings on it and this cello sounds simply amazing. Tuning pegs hold tune, and don't slip. It's a solid cello for a student at an excellent price and it has a sound if you drop great strings on it. If you need a starter cello for a student - you cannot go wrong with this one.


by A***y



on March 27, 2024

Sparkling and good sound.


by G***1



on March 16, 2024

My nephew practices everyday after school.


by H***a



on March 14, 2024

I'm new to cello and purchased this GC101 to start my lessons. I'm extremely impressed with the quality of the instrument for the price. The sound quality in simple AMAZING! Prior to it arriving I was worried about the sound quality but have been impressed beyond belief. I showed up for my first lesson and my instructor commented on how unusual it is to have beginner instruments sound this good. The craftsmanship is also pretty good for the price point. It's not the highest quality but that's to ...


by K***y



on March 08, 2024

My son is using it for last 3 months. No problem at all.


by F***i



on February 29, 2024

Overall, this is a great student cello.


by T***r



on February 27, 2024

Good price for a student cello. Be prepared to replace the strings, bridge and pegs. Tuning pegs are made with a very soft wood that cracked during any turning. Strings popped pretty immediately on tuning. Overall needs some upgrades to make it playable. Emailed the service email box that was listed on the email to request new pegs, and the email box isn't legitimate and returns "undeliverable"

Service Team:

We apologize for any inconvenience caused! Thank you for your support of the Glarry brand. We have forwarded your issue to our Research and Development Department and Quality Control Department, and we will strengthen our control over product quality and continuously improve our quality. Glarry


by P***Q



on February 22, 2024

This is the lowest price for this brand. But it's really good in quality and sound. I replaced the bow with a higher quality bow as well as the strings, as the bow and strings that came with it were not very good. I also took it to a shop to have the bridge carved to its proper fitting. Doing these simple things will make a big difference and my instructor noticed the difference and asked me what I had done before I told her. I will be looking to upgrade to a better cello in about two years.


by N***r



on February 21, 2024

Cellos are not cheap! But this is a very good price compared to ~$600-$700 starter student cello at the music store which sounds and looks similar as this one. Love it!


by A***t



on February 12, 2024

Received the cello in perfect condition, no damage. Bridge have to be attached though.


by M***o



on February 09, 2024

I love my cello.


by L***O



on January 31, 2024

I played violin as a kid and have always wanted to learn cello, but was reluctant to shell out $60/ mo to rent one. I was thrilled to find cheap ones. Beautiful, work fine, nice sound. All in good.


by L***e



on January 25, 2024

I finally get the chance to learn cello on a budget!


by W***e



on January 19, 2024

I am pleasantly surprised. No apparent manufacturing defects, everything was included, and the bridge was simple enough for someone with no experience to set up.


by C***r



on January 11, 2024

Bought for grand daughter - she loves it


by L***n



on January 06, 2024

My only complaint is that it can't hold a string in tune, but I'm hoping that will get better as I break in the instrument. The case is functional. The bow is certainly not craftsmanship perfection, but it does its job. The rosin is also really not good but again, it's usable. Nothing unexpected there with the quality of the accessories. I'll see how they hold out before replacing them. All in all, worth the money.


by A***e



on January 01, 2024

I highly recommend purchasing one of these lovely cellos and this price. I'm very excited to play and start learning my cello once mine is being bridged and tuned and the shop I soon to be picking up soon. Good luck on your guys. Cheers.


by T***i



on December 25, 2023

Poor quality Returning to Glarry

Service Team:

We apologize for any inconvenience and have escalated your issue to our R&D and QC departments. We're committed to improving our product quality and processes. We'll reply you soon.Glarry


by W***e



on December 24, 2023

I noticed just a little scratch where they wrap up where the bridge needs to be assembled but overall it came very nice and new looking. Good!


by S***M



on December 16, 2023

It came in perfect condition. Very beautiful and good quality. Worth the money.


by O***.



on December 12, 2023

It was a birthday gift. Good. My girl loves it.


by A***o



on December 04, 2023

It's really light to carry around


by C***e



on November 28, 2023

So amazing! From the price to the finish to the material to the sound quality, I like it so much!


by A***p



on November 23, 2023

I am a choral music teacher and wanted to teach myself how to play. I don't want to invest a lot of money in case teaching myself didn't turn out well. However, I have been impressed with it. Perfect for beginners and it even stays in tune!!! I make my debut this weekend at church!


by D***r



on November 22, 2023

I got it on sale for $199 and it is mind boggling how you can get a real Cello for $200. I broke a string turning the wrong peg when I was tuning it and was disappointed they didn't offer replacement strings but I ordered a single D string online and GuitarTuna has a Cello Tuning option in their free version of their app, I recommend you download it. The bow is ok but I like my violin bow better, this is an awesome beginner instrument.


by L***O



on November 16, 2023

What a great instrument! It came with a nice padded cloth zipper case, the bow, and rosin. Everything here is good.

1 2 3 >